Inclusion and Belonging

Masumi Hayashi-Smith

Saturdays January 15 & 22, 2022

11am – 2:30pm ET/ 10am – 1:30pm CT/ 9am – 12:30pm MT/ 8am – 11:30am PT

$115

VIA ZOOM 


"Beloved community is formed not by the eradication of difference but by its affirmation, by each of us claiming the identities and cultural legacies that shape who we are and how we live in the world." - bell hooks


In today's world, how is our work of inclusion and belonging already active in the ways we engage with our young children? What are the messages we are already teaching and what are the messages we want to teach?


Research has shown that children internalize messages 

around race and gender within months of being born. As their most influential models, it is our work to provide for them messages that will serve them and their communities through the rest of their life.


In this workshop, we will build awareness of ourselves, as parents and educators, and in turn, learn how to nurture affirmative understandings of inclusion and belonging in our children. We will primarily look at aspects of race and gender, but our work will not be limited to these topics. Participants will engage in dialogue, story telling, and building tools and understandings to support their work with young children.


This is a two day workshop on consecutive Saturdays. Registration closes at 11am on Friday January 14, 2022

You will be directed to PayPal for final payment. You can choose to pay with a credit card (no account required) or via PayPal account